Posted by: soulshinemoments | March 14, 2013

Class

I had a good f’ing day today!

We had a midterm in Research class that was a little confusing because of the way it was written (our professor is from Sweden and sometimes it shows). I know I didn’t fail it, but I don’t feel like I made a 100% on it like I did on our DSM exam which I got back today (woot!). But, c’est la vie.

After the exam, some of the girls and I went to Taco Mac for lunch. Can I just say–I love those MSW girls. Honestly, they are some of the smartest, sensitive, kindest, funny group of women I have ever met. I am so thankful to have met them and that I can call them friends.  They enrich my life in so many ways.  I never thought I would get such a blessing when I decided to pursue grad school last year.

I was telling one of my girls about how I had some concerns about my internship next year.  Next year, I am going to be an intern as a hospice social worker.  I’m really looking forward to it.  It’s something I have been considering since I was told a couple of years ago that my dad’s cancer was terminal and he would have to consider hospice eventually.  But, of course, there are some fears I have with it.  Death and dying is scary, lets face it.  I think it’s natural to be afraid of it because there is so much unknown about it. Also, one of the motivating things about being a social worker is watching people change and transform (when they do). I love at the homeless shelters seeing clients when they first come in broken and homeless, transform into empowered individuals who find jobs, make connections with their formerly estranged family, get jobs, find nice places to live, and feel apart of society. But, hospice? Wasn’t an individual in hospice kinda…well..doomed.

“No way, dude.” My friend said. “I think hospice social workers are bad ass.  They get to see people as they leave the world! That is both scary and so amazing. It’s such an important place you will play in their lives!!”

Hell, yeah, girl. Thanks for putting it in perspective!!!

These are some books my future supervisor suggested for me to read before I start my internship: The Hospice Companion by Perry G. Fine and Why Wait?  The Baby Boomer’s Guide to Preparing Emotionally, Financially, and Legally for a Parent’s Death by Carolyn Brent.  So I will have to order these soon!

After Taco Mac, we all went back to class for our Human Behavior in a Social Environment class and talked about schizophrenia.   So glad I got a 100 on that exam which is worth 40% of my grade. Ahhh!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

