Posted by: soulshinemoments | April 9, 2013

Funny, the way it is….

We had nine intakes tonight.  I did four of those  nine myself (which is a lot!).

One lady was unkempt with frizzy gray hair and one tooth and hacked this awful, wet cough.  She told me she was homeless because she was an alcoholic and would sometimes have alcoholic seizures.

I asked her when the last time she drank was and she said, “Yesterday”. 

I asked her the mandatory question, “Will you do what is necessary to achieve/maintain sobriety?”

She replied, “Absolutely.”

Another lady sat across from me and just cried quietly to herself.  When I asked her if there was anything she wanted to talk about or if there was anything I could help her with, she just shook her head.  She said she was a live-in CNA but lost her job and that is how she became homeless.

Another lady I met tonight had three small children with her and was fleeing domestic violence.  She said she had been living in a hotel for the past month with her children, but her ex-husband stopped sending her child support.  She was having too much trouble working, finding daycare for her small children, and was forced to live out on the street.
___________________

Tomorrow I have a job interview for a part-time summer position at the shelter.  The pay is pretty good, but I am a little disappointed that I won’t be working directly with the women at the shelter if I do get this position.  Nevertheless, I will just be grateful to have some sort of income this summer. Maybe there will still be an opportunity to work directly at the shelter.

I have three days and 2 hours left of my internship.  Yes, I am exhausted; but, I am saddened to leave my internship.  I have such a heart for the women at the shelter.  I went from being slightly intimidated of the homeless population when I first began my internship in August, to really loving the women I work with and serve. 

_____________________

April is crunch time as far as school work is concerned.  I am going to try my best to start going to bed before 2am from now on so I won’t be so grumpy.  =)

Leave a Reply

Categories

