Posted by: soulshinemoments | May 3, 2013

The End of the Tunnel

The end is in sight, the end is in sight, the end is in sight!! Woo-hoo!

Yesterday, I had a presentation and a final. I hate public speaking and literally read off of my tablet for the whole thing. I get so nervous.  I was in drama in 8th and 9th grade and my best friend at the time and I would win 1st place in all of our competitions. I was actually PAINFULLY shy during that stage of my life.  But, if I had a script to memorize, I was able to lose myself and be more free. Maybe I should work on memorizing my presentations more during my program, but I really do not have time for that. It is something to consider, though.

After our presentations on community interventions, my beautiful, brilliant, sweet, fun friends (and members of my cohort) and I got together and crammed for our final. During that session, I learned more than I did all semester.  Sara is so smart and patient with us and really was the main “teacher” of all the material to us.  Erin would then break it down for us in easier (and funnier) terms.  By the time of the exam at 8:30 last night, I was more than prepared. (FYI: Kicking ass on a test is definitely an ego boaster! ;))

Mysia, Caity, and I grabbed a quick drink after the exam. (I had a “Sweedish Fish” Martini…yum!)  We also decided, as we were having our drinks, that we needed to have a fun summer together and do a lot of exciting things. Therefore, we started a “Summer Bucket list”.  So far, we have:

  • Horseback riding in Blue Ridge

  • Reike session

  • Get drunk til we puke sing summer of 69 (lol, JUST KIDDING)

  • Zip Line in Blue Ridge

  • Sensory Deprivation Tank

  • Thai Massage

  • Try to visit a different church or other spiritual establishment every week

  • Take the Painting class with a bottle of wine that Caity was talking about (Forgot the name)

More to come, I’m sure. 😉

This morning, Caity and I went to garage sales with Jax in tote.  I really enjoyed it. I got a bunch of incense for cheap! And other stuff too. We also got cupcakes and Starbucks coffee. Garage Sales are probably going to be occupying a lot of my time this summer.  Especially if I can sell my stuff on ebay and make some extra $$, which is what Jack is encouraging me to do. 

Anyway, it has turned out to be a fine end to the semester.  I feel proud of myself for all the hard work I’ve put into this program and feel that I am really benefiting both by the friendships I am establishing and also by growing as a person.

Now I need to clean my messy house which I have pretty much neglected all semester and cook because Rachel, Sara, and Erin are coming over to study for DSM.

Happiness!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

