Posted by: soulshinemoments | May 30, 2013

More Yoga Please

THE SUN WAS beating down on our fair shoulders as Rachel and I walked in downtown Marietta while I pushed Jackson’s cheap little umbrella stroller in front of us.  We had planned to go to the park yesterday, but, on a whim, I asked if she minded if we just walked downtown instead.  (Even when I was 16 years old,  I would find so much solace just walking the streets of the downtown college town where I grew up.  I loved people watching and window shopping.) She agreed, so off the three of us went–all three of us (Rachel, Jackson, and I)–fair skinned and desperately needing a little sunshine and Vitamin D.

“Oh, there is the yoga studio I just signed up to take classes at,” Rachel casually mentioned as we strolled passed it.
“What! You’re taking yoga classes!? I am wanting to do that, regularly, so bad.”
“Yeah. You want to stop in and take a look?” She shrugged.
I eagerly agreed and after talking to one of the employees at the studio, have decided that I am going to start taking classes there when I get back from Florida. I can take two weeks of unlimited yoga for $25.00. Um? Yes, please. Rachel will do it with me which makes me happy because she is such excellent company.  Plus, I am needing some yoga in my life–something slow, yet challenging. Something that anchors me, disciplines me, teaches me mindfulness, gives me that all natural high.  Something that teaches me to slow down and count my blessings.

Then, the three of us had lunch outside at this very hip little restaurant. We had avocado egg rolls and terryaki tacos.  Rachel and I had many interesting discussions.  We talked about reike, meditation, our relationships with our significant others.  Rachel is one of the best listeners I have ever met–empathetic, thoughtful, and really pays attention to details.  Lucky me, I get therapy for free whenever I hang out with my social worker girls. After lunch, we threw pennies in the wishing well in front of us (Jackson did, too.  I’m pretty sure that he wished for an unlimited supply of cookies and a ball.), and then walked around the square admiring the gorgeous old southern houses.  I have this fantasy about living there one day with my family and walking to the yoga studio every evening. How cool would that be?

image

Leave a Reply

Categories

