Posted by: soulshinemoments | June 20, 2013

Everything works together for good

My step-daughter is hot and cold with me.  And, honestly, probably I with her.  Maybe it is a step-parent thing or perhaps it is a teenage thing, or a combination of both.  Tuesday night she asked me if I would rub lotion on her extremely sun burned back.  I like it when she asks me to do motherly type things for her like that.  Another example is when she asks me to do her hair (which I always kinda mess up on because even being a female myself, I never got that skill down.) Still, I don’t mind playing the mother role with her one bit, but I feel she mostly pushes me away, saving that spot in her heart for her real mommy.  I try to accept and understand that–sometimes I do, other times I don’t.  I’m only human, after all.  So Tuesday night after I rubbed some lotion on her and gave her a cool washcloth to put on her sunburn, she asked me if I could take her to Starbucks the next day. I agreed and just the two of us went to drink a coffee and frappocino at starbucks. We sat in the big brown comfy chairs and Ariel rambled on to me excitedly about how we might go to Chatanooga in a couple of weeks to see one of Jack’s longest and best friend’s who have recently moved there and their 1 year old twin girls.  After we were finished with our drinks, we returned back to my old ’97 Saturn and pulled out of the parking lot.

“Uh-oh, what’s that sound?” I looked at my passanger side mirror. “Do I have a flat tire?”
“Yup!” Ariel exclaimed.
At the same time, a kid with shaggy brown hair who was about 19 years old came running out after us.
“Excuse me! Excuse me! Your tire is flat!”
“Nah, Doy!” Ariel mumbled to me.
We hadn’t completely left the parking lot yet, so I grabbed the closest space and turned off my engine.  Sure enough, my tire was flat as can be.
I tried to call Jack and I couldn’t get a hold of him.  So Ariel and I walked back to Starbucks.
“Here, I have an idea. I happen to have my paints and canvases with me.  How about we paint while we wait for your dad to return my call?” And, with that, we pulled out my acrylic paints and tried to make the best out of the situation.

  

image

Jack was taking what seemed like forever to return my call.  I pulled out an expired AAA card I had in my wallet which expired in May.  Before my dad passed away, that was always the one and only bill of mine that he ever paid for me–my roadside AAA card.  And guess what? That thing came in handy so many times. Even when I was going into labor with Jackson it came in handy because Jack’s old truck died right when we pulled into the hospital parking lot! (My luck, I tell you what!) I tried to call the AAA card even though the card had been expired a couple of months to see if they could help me just in case. 

“Hi, I have a flat tire and I’ve been a member since 2007. I know my card expired in May, but I was wondering if there was any way I could still get a little help.  My dad just passed away in October and he was the one who paid this bill for me. Is there any–”
“My condolences,” the man on the other end said.
Then I started to get a little choked up and felt silly about it.
The bottom line was that, sure, they could help me.  If I would agree to sign on and pay a mere whatever whatever per month.  No, thanks.
Just when I was on the brink of frustration, a familiar blonde headed little girl popped up next to Ariel while she was making swirly brush strokes onto her canvas.
“Hey, Ariel,” The little girl said as she tapped Ariel on her shoulder.
NO WAY!
“Faith!” I chirped, recognizing Ariel’s friend and our neighbor.  “I can’t believe you’re here! Is your mama here?”
“Ya, she’s over there!”
Amazingly and luckily, our neighbors happened to stop into the restaurant next door and were able to give Ariel and I a lift back home. Jack finally called while we were half-way back to our house.  Faith was sitting on my lap when he called because there wasn’t enough room for everyone considering my neighbor had her three children with her. 
Jack started sort of lecturing me about how I should know how to change a flat tire and that he wasn’t allowed to get his license at 16 until he was able to change a flat tire. That was his mother’s rule and his dad enforced it. And then he said, “When Ariel is 16, she is going to have to know how to change a flat tire before she’s allowed to get her license, too!”
I fought back my annoyance as best as possible and calmly said, “Well, Ariel is lucky to have a father like you who will teach her how to do that!”
Later when we returned to the house, my neighbors stayed and ate their To-Go Order at our kitchen table.  She has a son who is only 6 months older than Jackson and the two boys ran around together, babbling their little baby heads off.
My neighbor said to Jack when she saw him, “Instead of giving Olivia a hard time about having a flat tire, how bout you give her a kiss and say, ‘I’m sorry you got a flat tire, baby. I’m glad you are okay and I’m glad to see you.’ And give her a kiss!”
Jack blushed and smiled and repeated, “I’m sorry you got a flat tire, baby, and glad you are ok.” And kissed me on the lips. “But, you still need to learn how to change a flat!”
So later when we picked up my car, he showed me what to do and says he wants me to practice how to do it by myself, but sometime soon.  I’m not complaining.  It is a good skill to have. But now my tire is fixed and everything is all good.

image

Today Jack, Jackson, and I went to Waffle House and then to this really funky old antique market. Jack showed me it and we spent a good hour in that place. I saw many beautiful things which I would like to decorate our new house with (whenever that day may come…hopefully sooner rather than later!).  Jack was telling me I should find stuff to sell on ebay to make some money. Maybe.  It was a fun mid-day excursion.

image

Now the boys are napping and I think I am going to catch up on some reading before Yoga class. More in here later.
Xoxo.

image

Leave a Reply

Categories

