Posted by: soulshinemoments | June 22, 2013

Summer Solstice & Not Sweating the Small Stuff

image

ONE-HUNDRED AND EIGHT SUN SALUTATIONS–that is what I was doing in the middle of downtown Marietta last night along with Rachel and Katy and her boyfriend, Clive. It was free. It was the longest day of the year. It was different. So, why not? (Here are some kind of cool reasons as to WHY.) Did I make it to 108? Hell, no! I tried…with sweat pouring off of me, I tried.  But I am definitely not anywhere near that level yet. Maybe one day? Some of the skills of the other yogis participating was absolutely incredible and inspiring.  Actually, I talked to Jack today to make sure he was cool with continuing to watch Jackson for a couple hours everyday so I can keep my yoga practice up (at least until the end of the summer) and he agreed!
“Do whatever you have to do to keep your head in check!” He smiled at me.
Ahem. So, yeah, I might be just a tad more calm and centered when I do yoga. It definitely contributes to my being a better more enlightened individual.  I am a fan of it and excited that I will be able to continue my journey.

I also went to meet with my future hospice supervisor yesterday to discuss the upcoming school year and what my schedule will be like as a hospice social work intern.  I am really looking forward to starting my internship, though slightly intimidated.

“One thing is for sure,” My supervisor said to me yesterday as we sat across from each other in a booth at Chick-fil-A. “This internship will teach anyone to not sweat the small stuff–and it is all small stuff.”

I feel really grateful and happy about the direction of my life right now. I love what I’m studying in school, I love my man, I love my kids, I love my exercise practice, I love my friends. The only thing I don’t love is being so freakin’ poor. But, I know that will come in time. I am lucky for all of the priceless things that I do have.

After yoga in Marietta last night, I came back to the house and Jack and I ended up just hanging and having an unexpected date night. Jackson was in bed, Ariel was spending the night at a friend. Jack and I had some really great conversation. One of the things we discussed was what we are going to do once I graduate in May. It is a favorite daydream of both of ours. We want to move, but are unsure of where. We’ve talked about going back to Cleveland, Ohio where he is from so the kids could be near their grandparents. But the awful winters really discourage both of us.

“What about Asheville, North Carolina?” I shrugged at him last night as we stood on our front porch, staring at the almost full moon.

Asheville is beautiful, not too cold, has an extensive glassblower scene, is artsy, and we already have a couple of friends that way anyway.

“I would be all right with Asheville!” He replied.

We discussed it further and it is definitely on our list for possibilities.

We ended the night watching Trainspotting (which I had never seen before). Jack made us strawberry shortcake with banana and raspberries and vanilla ice cream which was incredible. I mean, it was a good fuckin’ day! 🙂

image

Glass pendant by Jack (JackRoberts7416@gmail.com)

Responses

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!


Leave a Reply

Categories

