Posted by: soulshinemoments | August 9, 2013

Lavender Tea & a Yoga Buzz

I took a 10:00am hot yoga class this morning.  Before class started, this lady next me was spraying lavender on her towel and it smelled so good!  She offered me some to spray on my towel as well and I took her up on it.  Now I am drinking lavender and chamomile tea that I just had to go out and buy after that class.  I feel so calm right now, drinking my lavender tea.  The little things….

Tomorrow will be my fifth day this week doing yoga.  I am going to take an 8:00 am class tomorrow.  I have also made a schedule which I think will allow me to do yoga 4-5 times a week even when school starts.  I would love to graduate in May with my MSW and also be super strong and flexible and more mindful because I was able to keep up my yoga practice all 10 months too.  That is what I am aiming for!

My teacher today had much more of a philosophical method of sharing his practice with us.  The class was one of the more challenging ones I’ve taken, but while I was dripping sweat from every pore in my body, he would say things like:

“Don’t let your ego hold you back.” 
“Ask yourself two things. First, are you giving your practice 100 percent right now? Secondly, are you straining? The goal is to give it your all, but do so calmly without being violent to your body.”
“Breathe deeply.  Let others hear your breath.  When others hear your breath, it will take them deeper into their practice as well.”

And many other lovely, motivating things that I wish I could remember right now.
At the end of class, he had us do a meditation in which we could not move, but had to bring awareness to each parts of our body.  This meditation helped me really feel my body and I felt a buzz of energy everywhere after we completed this awareness activity.

I think I am going to finish my lavender tea, read my book, and crash so I am able to be awake early for tomorrow. Peace & Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Categories

