Posted by: soulshinemoments | August 20, 2013

First day of Grad School/ Third Semester

Today was a damn good day; how I love my MSW cohort!  They make me smile so hard.

I woke up feeling relaxed, rejuvenated, and ready to tackle this grad school thang.  I dropped Ariel off at the bus stop at 8:00am and then spent the rest of the morning sipping on chai tea and relaxing. 

At 12:30, I met three of my friends (and fellow students) at Mellow Mushroom.  It was so great seeing each of them.  We immediately started fretting over upcoming assignments, concerns about our internships, hope and dreams we had for our future employment, etc.  The end of our schooling is very much in sight and this is what will fuel each of us to finish out strongly.

“We are right where we are supposed to be,” Rachel smiled at me as we drove back to campus after lunch.

Yep, I totally believe it.

The two classes I had today and will have every Monday for the next 15 weeks were: “Working with Individuals” (for two hours) and then “Group Therapy” (for two hours).  Gosh, the first day of classes are boring!  We went over the syllabus.  We went over “what clinical social work” is. Zzzzz.  Fifteen minutes into it, I started playing on my phone.

Sara scolded me playfully later, “Girl, if you play on your phone like that all semester, I’m going to slap you!”

Yes, yes.  She’s right.  I won’t play on it anymore, no matter how dry the class is! Ha!

I think the classes will be interested, I just zone out when it comes to the basic, house-keeping stuff.  After I vowed to Sara to stay off my phone for the rest of the semester, I also came up with a few more goals.

1) Read something school related EVERY single night
2) Meditate for 20 minutes everyday
3) Do Yoga at least 3x’s a week
4) Stay off my phone during class
5) Speak, Contribute, and Engage more in all of my classes

I came up with a few more, but they still need some work.  These five are the concrete ones that I have decided on.

All in all, it was a really great day.  I am looking forward to seeing my babies tomorrow evening.  Until then….xoxoxo

Responses

  1. Those are great goals!

    • Thanks but yours are way more ambitious! I will dream bigger once I’m finished with school, hehe.

  2. i just finished grad school, but this post brings me right back. and, like you, i finished with a whole lot of help from the yoga studio 🙂

    • I’m looking at my schedule cross-eyed trying to find available slots to slip in a yoga practice! Congrats on finishing grad school…what was your focus, again?


Leave a Reply

Categories

