Posted by: soulshinemoments | August 25, 2013

“We’re all here for a purpose. Meditate on your mission, then use your gifts and talents to live your life on purpose. In doing so, you’ll become an unending magnet for miracles.” -Tavis Smiley

On the seventh day, God rested….  And, today, so did I. 

I also overindulged.  I am feeling both extremely more relaxed than when my weekend began, but also slightly guilty for not getting any reading completed.

Friday I came home feeling completely drained.  Liz (who is in my cohort and at my internship) and I spent three hours at Starbucks working on our “Learning Contracts”.  They are nine pages worth of jargon on the tasks we are supposed to implement as professional social workers, the tasks we will do to reach those goals, and how we will know when the tasks are completed.  It is quite tedious, but the two of us plowed our way through it.

Saturday I met C. (Jackson’s future care-taker) and her 10 month old at the park to walk for awhile.  C. is so sweet and I have always liked her.  She is down-to-earth and her son is beautiful.  We walked trails and then visited an art gallery which was a lot fun.  She told me about this concept called “Intuitive Painting” which she had done to her and I am really interested in learning more about it.  Apparently, it is a type of therapy.  She was able to have hers done for free by a friend of the family.  Hers was done in reference to her dog who she had for a long time that passed away.  She said the therapist was really able to capture the emotion of her loss of her pup.  I just thought it sounded like an interesting type of therapy.

While I love C. and feel so happy that she is willing to watch Jax, I have a couple of concerns.  One is that she wants (and truly deserves) quite a bit of money that Jack and I really cannot afford.  Jack and I are thinking it would actually be less expensive to stick Jax in a daycare center.  So I may have to spend next week looking into that.  My other concern is that her 10 month old son just started walking and Jax loves to run and requires a great deal of energy.  I am worried this might be too much for her to handle.  She is at least going to watch him Monday and Tuesday of this week to see how it goes.  I know everything will work out, but it is still stressful for me to not have his childcare worked out and to be so freakin’ poor and have to worry about figuring it all out!

Jack made a semi-bonfire late last night for us.  He is all into football and fantasy football (gag) and I told him he’d better carve out some time for us, too, this fall. Between our busy schedules plus my yoga and his football stuff, we could quite possibly go for a long period of time without seeing each other.  He agreed that we’d make Saturday nights our time together.  We stayed up really late last night which is part of the reason I wanted to sleep all day today. 

My goal of yoga at least three times a week has been a fail for me this week. I went twice, but they were both slow-moving yin classes. During the summer, yoga was the highlight of my day.  Now I fear that it is turning into one more thing I have to do.  But even with the yin classes, I feel so amazing afterwards and I was glad I went the couple of times I did.  I need to do better and I want to do better with yoga.  I will try to do better this week!

Ok, I am off to make a schedule for this upcoming week.  Peace and Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Categories

