Posted by: soulshinemoments | September 2, 2013

Have Patience and Love Each Moment

image

It has been kind of a hellish weekend for me, to be honest. 

Damn, what did I do to deserve this?

My back went out Thursday.  Jack and I got into an argument Friday.  I lost my cell phone for two days which only added to my feelings of frustration and anxiety (I need it for internship and to stay connected to my cohort).  I felt extremely overwhelmed. I spent most of the weekend crying, either in pain or in frustration.  (Happy Labor Day to me!)

On the positive side, I will say that things seem to be on the upswing.  I actually was able to stand up today without my back locking for 5 minutes and screaming out in pain.  Ariel and Jack found my cell phone so far tucked within the couch that Jack had to actually cut the fabric on the couch to get it out. I was able to complete a lot of homework this weekend with all the time I had to just sit around.

The best part of my weekend came in the form of Sara from my MSW program.  She brought over pizza and some wine and we did some homework together and had some really interesting conversations about social work and just life in general. She has had even more back problems than I am having and was able to offer me some advice which really helped.  Funny how reaching out to people can alleviate so much emotional and physical pain! This is exactly why support groups are so therapeutic. 

I will count my blessings for those aforementioned positive things, for sure.  It’s funny how I was fantasizing about just sitting in a coffee shop and doing homework when I was laid up in the bed.  Normally, doing homework is a chore, but in comparison to feeling weak, vulnerable, and in pain, it sounded phenomenal. 

So, hopefully I am on the mend and everything will be ok.

One thing I know I am going to have to take a break from and perhaps stop altogether is my yoga practice! Yes, the thing that has been my sanity for the last three months.  It kind of breaks my heart.  I am still trying to figure out what to do about that.  Either way, I know a break is mandatory. 

One of the reasons Jack and I get into it the other night is because he is obsessed with football.  He has three fantasy league teams this year.  I got annoyed at him last year for the same reason at this time too.  This year I had my mind set that I would let him do his thing and I would take full advantage of his obsession like doing things that I enjoyed such as YOGA.  Now that looks like that’s out the window and I am really upset about that.  I just texted my friend Emily that I was going to forget I had a boyfriend for the next 5 months and pamper the fuck out of myself while he is watching football.  She suggested I go to a sauna.  Maybe I will.  I was also thinking about getting a massage (groupon appears to have amazing discounts), getting a keratin treatment for my hair (again, groupon), painting, blogging, getting A+’s in all my classes, Reikie appointments….other ideas?  Whatever I do, I’ve got to do it on the cheap!  That way he can do his thing (UGH) and I can do mine and not feel bitter about getting ignored for the next few months! UGH!! I thought I was in a committed relationship with a sensitive artist, not a jock!

Anyway, I will try not to complain, meditate, and trust the process. Everything Happens for a Reason, so they say….

Responses

  1. I am not a football dude (I don’t get it either), but I know a lot of them and man do they love their fantasy leagues. Who knows if he thinks the same thing about your yoga, etc. Just let the fella do his thing and enjoy yours. Sometimes things just work out better that way…lol. Glad that your back is slowly mending… 🙂

    Blessings,
    Paul

    • Thanks, Paul! Appreciate your male view point 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

