Posted by: soulshinemoments | September 4, 2013

The Liebster Award

So I was nominated for this award twice by two different people. I am going to save a little space and link them both in one blog entry and try to answer all twenty questions! 🙂

Thank you to Fancy from SeeFancyLove.wordpress.com and to http://jenerationlife.com/ for nominating me for the Liebster Award! Check out their inspirational blogs! 🙂

Image

The Liebster Award Rules:  
You must link back the person who nominated you.
You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with under 200 followers
You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

1. What inspires your blog posts?

I have been keeping blogs and journals forever!  I went through a creative writing phase in my early twenties, but now I really just blog to record my day.  Living life is what inspires me!

2. What was your first blog post about?

Actually, I started this wordpress blog as part of a school project where I posted my entire 25 page bio-psycho-social-spiritual I had to write for one of my human development class.  I have since taken that entry down because it was very personal and I have more than one person who reads my blog now!

3. Where do you feel the most at peace?

In my head after I do yoga! 🙂

4. If you had to choose one food/dish you could eat for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

No dish comes to mind immediately, but I do know that I am addicted to coffee. 🙂

5. What is your favorite travel destination?

When Jax gets a little older and I get a little more settled in my job, I hope to do more traveling.  I lived in Spain for 6 months nearly a decade ago and stayed in Morocco for a month, too.  But, that feels like forever ago, now….

6. Who inspires you?

Different people inspire me in different ways.  Anyone who is good-hearted, kind, motivated, awake, alive, artistic, purposeful inspires me.

7. Post a link to your favorite post that you’ve written and why.

I like this one I wrote awhile back: https://soulshinemoments.wordpress.com/2013/05/25/writing/

But I think my favorite post has yet to  be written. It’s coming though….

8. What do you love about blogging?

I like the chance to organize my thoughts and connect with other people with similar interests, sure. But my favorite part of blogging is re-reading old entries and seeing progress and change.

9. What other social media platforms do you use?

Facebook, Instagram

10. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A dog trainer, a sign language interpreter, a teacher, a lawyer, a dancer…

11. You are on a deserted island, what 3 things would you choose to have with you?

paints, a journal, music

12. What are your 3 favorite all time books?

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Anna Karenina

13. What drives you to write? Meaning, what gives you that fire?

Lately, positive, social worky, yoga, meditative, holistic, spiritual, whats-the-meaning-of-life stuff.  And anything related to my family.

14. How do you wish your blog to be in a year?

Full of even more wisdom, knowledge, lessons learned, stories of success.

15. What ways are you trying to build up an audience for your blog, if any.

In real life, I am really kind of shy to share and speak my mind.  It is nice to have an outlet here.  I’m not looking for an audience, but it is fun when I get a new follower.

16. What do you think of blogging so far?

I feel like it is therapeutic. I’ve learned so much about myself and about other bloggers I read.

17. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I keep daydreaming about this idea because once I finish school, we will have some freedom to move if we so desire.  For some reason, Asheville, NC keeps running through my mind…

18. Name 3 things on your bucket list.

Become a yoga teacher, live in Europe, have a happy, healthy, intact family

19. What was the initial reason you started blogging?

I answered why I started a wordpress blog in a previous question.  The reason I initially started journaling when I was 14…I think it was to vent, have a place I could organize my thoughts.

20. What is your favorite topic to write about?

Couple stuff, family stuff, Mindfulness, Meditation, Yoga, being a mommy, Social Work stuff, life of a step-mom stuff, the human condition, boring ol’ daily events 😉

Here are Questions for my Nominees to answer:

1. What is your earliest childhood memory? Go back as far as you can.

2. Who was your first love?

3. What is the job you enjoyed most in your life so far?

4. What kind of values would you/do you instill in your children?

5. What would you especially like your family to know and remember about you?

6. How did your mother influence you?

7. How did your father influence you?

8. What are some positive words (quotes, lyrics) you repeat to yourself to get you through tough moments?

9. Why do you blog?

10. What are 3 of your favorite bloggers and why?

 

Here are my nominations:

http://iwanttotakemylifeback.wordpress.com/

http://kundalinidotorg.wordpress.com/

http://apartment-wife.com/

http://astepmomintraining.wordpress.com/

http://jackjosephsmom.com/

http://yoginiwannabe.com/

http://365zen.wordpress.com/

http://halfmoonyoga.org/

http://stressmeknot.wordpress.com/

http://thesocialworkpractitioner.com/

 

Responses

  1. thank you for the nomination — and i think you’d make a fantastic yoga teacher. i’d definitely want to run through poses with you 🙂

    • You are so sweet! Maybe I will be a yoga teacher one day…when it stops hurting to tie my shoes…lol. Always enjoy reading your blog and all of your kindness and creativity!

  2. Thank you for the nomination! Hope you get to live in Europe, I have wanted to travel to Europe ever since I can remember.

    • No problem…love reading your blog entries. We step mommies have to stick together. 😉

  3. Hello! Hope you’re having a great day. Here are my answers to your questions. =)

    1. What is your earliest childhood memory? Go back as far as you can.
    I remember when I was very small, so young I can’t remember the age…but my brother’s were much older than me, in high school. They would have parties when my parents were out of town and when I was upset or wanted my way I would yell at them and threaten them that I would tell on them for having a party. They bribed me with happy meals, lol. Although, my parents would always find out they had a party.

    2. Who was your first love?
    He was a nice guy but not the one for me. I wish him all the best. It’s the people from my past that I bless and thank that they did not work out because I wouldn’t be who I’m with today if they did.

    3. What is the job you enjoyed most in your life so far?
    My job now is the most enjoyable job I’ve ever had. Working for myself, I always knew that I would.

    4. What kind of values would you/do you instill in your children?
    I don’t have children at the moment. The values that I would instill in my children is that anything is possible. To be kind instead of trying to be right. To live a life of gratitude. To not take things personally. To always do their best. To live a life of service. Live with understanding and compassion. Live their lives on purpose. Be the peace that they seek in the world. To breathe through it. To not worry or stress and to know that no matter what everything is always okay.

    5. What would you especially like your family to know and remember about you?
    I would want them to know that I love and appreciate them. I appreciate their efforts in doing the best they could. For giving me a better life than they had. For loving me and supporting me through the ups and downs. I would want them to remember that I was a light of positivity in their lives and that in some way I made life a little sweeter.

    6. How did your mother influence you?
    In many ways I am like my mother. She has always been a sweet and kind person to everyone she meets. Her positive attitude and faith have influenced me greatly. No matter what she’s going through she always has her faith and knowing that she will always be supported. She has shown me what it is to be selfless and to care for other people. Since I was a child she has always been helping people in some way and I’m the same way.

    7. How did your father influence you?
    I’m a daddy’s girl. My father definitely influenced me in many ways just by how he showed up in my life. He was the example of what I would look for in men as I started dating. I can thank my father for being the example of showing me what it is to be truly loved, cherished and honored by a man. It is because of him that I would never for settle for anything less than the best.

    8. What are some positive words (quotes, lyrics) you repeat to yourself to get you through tough moments?
    Only good lies ahead.
    I am always supported.
    My faith is greater than my fear.
    I am love.
    I am peace.
    I am grateful.
    I am healthy.

    9. Why do you blog?
    I started off having just an online site for my vintage clothing but there was so many other things that I do, so I started a blog to share all the things that I love with the world or whoever is reading. It’s been a great experience so far.

    10. What are 3 of your favorite bloggers and why?
    I just started blogging not too long ago and I never really read blogs regularly before…However, I do enjoy reading your blog. Social work is something that always interests me and yoga. Love it all! =)

    • These are wonderful responses. I especially love what you wrote you would instill in your children. I hope to instill those same values into mine! xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

