Posted by: soulshinemoments | September 7, 2013

A Taste of Gratitude

I am really beginning to understand the importance of this whole gratitude concept.  There truly is so much happening all the time that I am able to feel grateful.  Whatever we focus our attention on only increases, so why wouldn’t I count my blessings? I am letting go of the way I think things “should” be and accepting the way the things are and also seeing the beautiful in what is.  Meditation is helping me with this, as well.  I’ve been meditating for at least 10-20 minutes every day.  I am starting to understand its power.  Last night, I meditated in a late night bath full of lavender Epsom salt…heavenly!

Today two of my neighbors and I took our 3 baby boys (ages 2 and a half, 2, and 1) and walked around this quaint little town near us.  They had closed down part of the town and set up 30 or so booths which had a sampling of food from all kinds of restaurants.  It was so heart-warming to watch our three boys interact with each other.  I also brought my step-daughter and my neighbor had her daughter who is a couple years younger than Ariel. We ate all kinds of good food, but my favorite was the ice cream at the end of the day. (It was HOT out!) I love for Jackson to socialize and have lots of friends.  His dad is so social and talkative himself (as well as his sister), so I really feel like Jackson is happiest when he is around others.

I don’t want to speak too soon, but Ariel and I have been getting along really well lately.  I feel like she’s opening up to me more and listening to me when I tell her to do something! She’s writing her autobiography for school and wanted to read it to me last night.  It was actually well written and had some funny parts in it.  My favorite part was where she wrote how she loves having a little brother and that she has wanted to be a big sister since she was “two years old”.

Jack is hitting stores trying to sell his glass today.  I am crossing my fingers and sending out positive vibes that he makes a profitable sale! I really need to promote his glass more.  It is so beautiful.  I told him that if he could fill up a small case of pendants for me, I would take them around different towns and see if I could make a sale.  A lot of store want consignment though and Jack hates consignment. (It’s easy to lose track of his glass that way.)  I will try to brainstorm something.

I need to try to get some reading done for school. Until next time….

Image

Responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day!! I am glad Ariel seems to be more receptive to you lately. Have you looked at Etsy for selling Jack’s glass? Just a thought.

    • Hey JJM…:-)
      Tried etsy and it didn’t go so well. I think because his glass is pretty high end and doesn’t fit in with what people are trying to purchase. Or maybe I just didn’t market his stuff right! He got a lot of “likes” but no buys… Thanks for the suggestion though. 🙂

      • Hmmm… Well, maybe just keep it out there. Maybe make a web page for it. People have to keep seeing it and consider it. It’s not an impulse buy, so it’s something they have to be continuously reminded of until they are ready for a purchase. I, myself, would love to see his work!

      • You know what, I think you’re right! I will be more persistent and put it out there. Thanks! I have some his work on my Instagram latesongliv and a case of his work on my about page. I will work on the etsy site again. God bless!:)

  2. you’re so blessed to have neighbors with children your own age – nice to be able to share experiences 🙂

    • I know that’s right. And now they are at the age where they are beginning to interact with each other which is super amusing!

  3. Amazing life experience, that you are soaking in. God Bless.

    • So true…there is an abundance of them to be soaked in 😉 Peace and Blessings to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

