Posted by: soulshinemoments | September 22, 2013

Magic Shrooms

At least boredom is not an issue I am having any difficulty in as of late.  In fact, I am the complete opposite of boredom–overly stimulated!

I am researching my topic for my group presentation in my Addictions Theory and Policy class.  Our topic is Hallucinogens. We were all expecting to do research on hallucinogens and find a great deal of negative aspects of the drugs (cause, you know, drugs are bad, mmmkay).  But, that’s just not the case.  Apparently, there is a lot of positive medical research regarding hallucinogens.  Obviously, it is still recommended that hallucinogens be given in a controlled environment, with support, a doctor, the appropriate environment and dosages.  But, still… so interesting.  They apparently have been shown to help with: PTSD, terminal patients, cancer patients, OCD, and depression. So now the trick is being a responsible social worker who can talk about the benefits of hallucinogens without suggesting that everyone go out and drop some acid. Ha. Image

My mom visited us this weekend and we had a really pleasant visit.  I took her and little Jax to the quaint downtown area of town where I used to (sigh) do yoga.  We ate at a Tapa place and it was delicious.  My mom enjoyed spending time with Jackson a lot.  It was a nice visit but I didn’t do a lick of homework. So now, at the moment, I am feeling bombarded by readings and assignments that need to be completed. UGH.

I feel gross from not doing yoga or any form of exercise for the past couple of weeks since hurting my back.  I think I am ready to start getting physical again.  I’m going to being with doing some walking and then after my massage on Friday, I am going to ask for her recommendations regarding my yoga practice.  I miss it so much.  Also, I want to drink more water.  I am horrible at drinking my water these days.  It is causing me to feel sluggish.  Not good.

Peace and Blessings…

Responses

  1. Drink your water. Get one of those buzzy electrode units for your back only about $50 at Sears.
    I can relate to homework I haven’t done it in two days and have 2 test due today. I always wait until the last minute. I think hallucinogenics are awesome is they could be controlled to some degree, as when we did them as youngsters they weren’t and I imagine dangerous, although I survived.

    If everyone did them at least once in their life, everyone would know that perception of reality can be more fluid. Things really aren’t solid and they move. I just think it opens your mind.

    Another very intelligent, educated blogger friend of mine, Monica just did a 5 part series on related material, you should go check it out.

    Here is Part 1 of 5.
    http://symbolreader.net/2013/08/23/cartography-of-the-deep-human-psyche-1/


Leave a Reply

Categories

