Posted by: soulshinemoments | October 15, 2013

Getting in Touch with the Silence within Myself…

image

Oh, Mindfulness, Mindfulness, Mindfulness–why are you so elusive?

Rachel and I met up at the yoga studio downtown last night to take a “Be Mindful” class.  Neither of us had any idea of what to expect.  I thought the room would be packed full of yoga teachers and we would all be sitting around candles and incense, chanting.  Nope.  It was just Rachel and me and two other ladies plus the teacher.  We sat in the dim lights of the yoga studio.  The Mindfulness teacher is also, interestingly, a dentist.  He started off the class with introductions and facts about the efficacy of mindfulness (reduces anxiety, increases compassion and empathy) and the literal effects on the brain’s  chemistry and actual anatomy.  I was sucked in, completely fascinated.  I am incredibly curious about the mind-body connection and the power the mind has.  I am hungry for more knowledge of mindfulness, meditation, yoga, and all the healing effects regarding both mental and physical anguish.

But, that wasn’t the point of the class.  The point was to meditate–to practice mindfulness.

We did a body scan standing up, a walking meditation exercise, and finally, a lying down body scan. 

Rachel said she felt a bit buzzed after doing her meditative body scan practice.

One time, previously, we did a body scan after a yoga class, and I felt this same sort of high/buzz.  Last night, however, I didn’t feel that sensation so much.  Instead, I felt as if I were grounding down in my body, finding my footing and stability.  It was a need a certainly had yesterday.  And, that I need again, today.  Staying in the present moment requires so much discipline.  But, I can see how it really adds color, taste, texture to life. 

I can’t wait to see what the next three weeks of this class bring.  Our homework is to practice mediation for at least 20 minutes every day and to practice mindfulness throughout the day. 

Responses

  1. Sounds like a really good class. Mindfulness isnt so much about the buzz but getting in touch with yourself and accepting exactly how your feeling.

    • Thank you. Yep, I believe we are both realize that, but being so aware of ourselves and our energy so intensely like that led to the surprising result of feeling a little buzz (for lack of a better term). 🙂

  2. Sounds fun. I feel like my life has become a form of meditation. I’ve learned to find calm in chaos. That meditation is not just on the mat or in a meditation hall but in my daily life. Mindfulness is so important and knowing that in each breathe I take I can choose joy in each moment.

    • Your life is a “form of meditation”–I like that. Sounds like you’re living the life you were meant to live when you can say that! I feel that way too at times. Thanks for your thoughts, Fancy 🙂

      • It’s a practice, like anything. People would always ask me how I was so calm when everything else would be so crazy. I actually thought of you the other day because of your hospice work. My grandmother’s cousin…I just call him grandpa was under hospice care. My parents went to visit him on Saturday and the next day…this past Sunday he passed away. He lived a very long time and I talk to my cousin often who was very close to him and let her know that he’s fortunate to have lived such a long and fulfilled life. I know it was hard for his children and grand children but he knew he was suffering too much and that it was his time. He passed peacefully in his sleep. Oh, the beauty of life and death.

      • I’m so sorry to hear about your “grandpa”…but I am happy to hear he had a long, fulfilling life and, it sounds like, a very loving family. Having a strong support system is vital to anyone–especially hospice patients. xo

  3. For me, meditation is like yoga – always practicing, gaining what I need to gain being where I need to be. I was speaking to someone about meditation yesterday and he gave me some tips (i sometimes fall asleep, and other times I just max out at 15-20 min). Deepening meditation / mindfulness takes practice for me, and consistency. But even taking 4-5 breathes before the mind starts to jump in and wonder what is going on is a great little jab of serenity for me.

    Great stuff here – I have always wanted to take a meditation class!

    Blessings,
    Paul

    • Thanks for your insight, Paul. I think a huge key to meditation and yoga and mindfulness is consistency (and not being self-critical or have expectations). Little efforts make big changes. We will see how to goes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

