Posted by: soulshinemoments | November 6, 2013

Indescribable Persistency & Full Catastrophe Living

I do not feel particularly inspired as I sit down to type this up.  I have no idea why I am even typing in here when there is a book I want to be finishing up right now (Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness by Jon Kabat-Zinn, if you were curious.).  Yet, I try to scribble little tid bits of my day and thoughts when I may, however I may. So, here goes…

This last week has been spent writing my ass off.  I turned in a 20 page paper on Monday regarding a Borderline Personality Disorder case study.  I have now a very clear idea of what Borderline Personality Disorder looks like (at least via text book).  We analyzed the hell out of that case.  I really conceptualized how important early attachments are to childhood.  What I really thought about though was that some how, some way Jackson seems extremely securely attached which will, according to research, hopefully lead to a healthy adolescents and adulthood.  Raising a well-adjusted child who feels love and gives back to the world is my ultimate goal in life.  I think everything else–yes, even graduate school–is small in comparison. Anyway, as we learned, those with Borderline Personality Disorder often had childhood where they were poorly attached to their caretakers–either the caretaker was detached or did not display appropriate boundaries.

Monday I turned in that 20 page paper, then today I turned in an eight page research paper with my partner, R., on Mindfulness Meditation and Addiction for my Addiction Theory and Policy class. Perhaps you are thinking that an 8 paged paper, with a partner, about Meditation would be much less of a feat than the 20 paged paper on a mental disorder, but you would be wrong! Writing, researching, and organizing that bitch was a pain in the butt!  We spent hours and hours (four days) on it and we kind of clashed a little writing it as well.  I am brain-storming new methods I will take for next time when I have to write my next research paper, whatever it may be.  One thing I will definitely do differently is organize with note cards, old school style.  I think that will make my writing process much easier.  Also, if I work with someone again, I will set clear boundaries about who does what part and where we imagine taking the paper.  However, as far as the actual research paper was concerned, we found overwhelming, peer reviewed articles that argued in favor of the amazing evidence there is for improving life through meditation.  The point of it all is: It aids in Substance Use Disorders (as well as a myriad of other things) tremendously…so, do it!

It is almost one in the morning and I have internship to go to tomorrow, so I will wrap this entry up. I am grateful for the things I learned this week and even more grateful that those papers are behind me! Getting closer to the finish line–May is just around the corner.

 

Peace & Blessings!

Responses

  1. Keep up the fabulous learning. I will definitely decide use a way to encorporate more meditation 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

