Posted by: soulshinemoments | November 12, 2013

“I Have it Within Me….”

image

Our Mindfulness Meditation series of classes ended this past Sunday.  Was it revolutionary? Nope.  Did it remind me and suggest to me some invaluable skills?  Definitely.  I am trying to put its ideas into practice to the best of my ability, but when I am getting slammed with paper after paper, project after project, internship drama, interpersonal dram, financial strain, kid drama–holy shit!  That present moment is difficult to acknowledge.  I am keeping in mind all of the positives going on in my life and consider the majority of my stress positive stress.  Going to school may be stressful at time, but thank God I have a purpose in life.  There have been times in my life where I felt really lost, but this period in my life is not one of those times.  I’m still not completely sure of my mission, but I feel like I am on the right path.  And, yes, I know the whole point of mindfulness and meditation is to come to the awareness that just being is really our mission.  But, like I said, I am only so-so at the whole mindfulness and meditation phenomena.

It’s almost ten pm now and I am at Starbucks after a long day of classes.  I was at school since 10:30 this morning.  I didn’t go home after my 7:30 pm in class because I was going to try to take advantage of the kid-free time and work on some school papers coming up.  But, now as I sit here, I realize that I don’t feel I have much in my left to give.  I am mentally spent.  Tomorrow I hope to do some Yin Yoga, work on a resource manual for hospice, work on doing legals for hospice, write part of my Battered Women Syndrome paper, and do some research for our debate next week (which is “Pro-Alcoholics Anonymous”, if you were curious.) I honestly feel that after next week, I will be able to breathe a little easier as far as school is concerned. 

This is an uninteresting entry and I apologize.  I am in complete survival mode right now!

Responses

  1. I am so-so at it all too, but we get better the more we practice it – like yoga. It’s funny I read this now, because I was just about to meditate. It’s late at night, and don’t want to wait too long, or I will just start falling asleep (my greatest foe when meditation). I will take my own advice (which I am terrible at) and say just keep at it…and we are where we are. No worse, no better. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Paul

    • Glad I’m not alone 🙂 thanks for your words of encouragement. Always appreciated!!! Blessings to you too

  2. Oh my goodness. Goosebumps. I just posted a blog post that I wrote on Monday while drinking Starbucks about stress. My MacBook has been dead since Monday so I haven’t been keeping up with blogs. Anyway, after posting a very similar blog post about being blessed by the stresses of educational demands and holiday shopping, etc. I came across this post.

    Twinning? Is that what they call it?

    Just remember, if you’re stressed over school– you’re the LUCKY one! Some people aren’t given that chance.

    Hope all is well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

