Posted by: soulshinemoments | December 2, 2013

Oh, Grad school

Monday, Dec. 2, 2013:
I was so close to skipping my first class today.

I know, I know, I know…it sounds horrible.  The thing is, we, as a cohort, are pretty disappointed with some of our classes this semester.  This class in particular is our “Working with Individuals” clinical class.  The class title sounds so interesting, right?  We were all looking forward to learning some therapy (DBT, CBT, Art Therapy….umm, anything?) and then practicing applying it to others.  Instead what we have been required to do is to write four long-winded papers about psychodynamic theory and we have also been forced to watch these horrid videos.  The videos are literally VHS Cassetts from 1978 (ish) with therapists with awful hair-cuts and cheesy one-liners.  They provide a lot of comic relief, but little else. 

I almost skipped this class (next Monday is our last day anyway) to spend the couple hours at Starbucks to finish one of my papers.  When I got to Starbucks, however, there was not a seat in the building.  I realized this might be the universe telling me to get my butt to class, so I took the sign and went to class.  I ended up sitting in the back of the class (I usually only sit in the front of the room) and played on pinterest all class period and make fun of the video with my cohort.  Very mature, I know.  But honestly? What a waste of time and money.  It really is unfortunate.

Our next class was one of my favorite classes, though. It is our group therapy class. I have learned a great deal out of that class which makes up, in some ways, for the class before it. We discussed our disappointments with some aspects of the program in that class. One of the girls in our program, A., turned the discussion around and said: “But what have you all GOTTEN out of the program?”

I was glad she said that because I think it made us all realize that we have become better people since starting grad school a year and a half ago. At least I can speak for myself and say that I have certainly evolved. I have met some incredible people and I feel excited about my social work career. So, really, I can’t complain.

Tuesday, Dec. 3, 2013:
Tonight was my last official night of class for my third semester of grad school. We have to go to campus next week for a final and to turn in papers, but this was the actual last night of class. One more semester to go and then I am D.O.N.E! I can’t wait.

Erin and I had to do a simple presentation on Battered Woman Syndrome. It was easy, thank god!

image
I just love my Erin. She told me to just chill and drink a tea before I went home after class tonight because I told her I was stressed. It really made a world of difference for me to collect my thoughts and take some deep breaths before coming home. It really is challenging to leave all that stress at school and not take it home with me. I feel that I was successful tonight thought, thanks to my dear friend.

All in all, life is good. ❤

Leave a Reply

Categories

