Posted by: soulshinemoments | December 14, 2013

Still here

image

Art by Minjae Lee

I sort of knew this would happen. 

I wrote those goals out at the first of the month but knew I had to give myself permission to slip up a little bit considering I was in the process of finishing up my third semester of grad school and preparing for the holidays.  And, so….I slipped and slacked.

But, I am here picking myself up again and trying to keep going with what I wanted to focus on.  I missed setting a time to sit and meditate every night.  It really does help. But, boy, what a whirlwind these past couple of days have been. 

My last exam was on Tuesday, but I am still interning for my hospice company through the holidays.  Except Thursday night we will be going up to Ohio to visit Jack’s family which I am really looking forward to! I also received my final grades back yesterday: straight A’s….oh yeah! One more semester to go and then I will have my Masters of Social Work degree.  I am very excited but also wondering how in the world I am going to get a job.  Considering I have $35.00 in my bank account right now, getting that pay check is a real motivating force for me right now. Sigh…

I went to a free 45 minute yoga class this morning with my friend and fellow MSW student, R.  We had a good talk afterwards about a lot of things.  We are both interested in DBT and want to become more trained in it.  I, too, want to figure out how to tie yoga and meditation into my social work practice.  I have no idea how I will do that, but I am really desiring to combine the two.  The mind is such a powerful force and dictates the quality of one’s life and yoga and meditation do such a fine job of realizing this little factor.

R. said, “Maybe you could talk to them at the yoga studio and teach some sort of meditation or yoga class some day.”
“I’m not even sure if I am doing downward facing dog properly, but that is a good goal!”

One of the first things I am going to do once I graduate and get a job is to take yoga more seriously and practice it regularly.  Working in hospice has really confirmed to me how important holistic health–mind, body, and spirit–is for us.

Anyway, I need to get home to my little one and be an attentive mommy so Jack can go downstairs and get some work done.  I just wanted to write a quick entry in here and let anyone who reads this know that I will be back on track with my goals…at least until Thursday when we leave for Ohio.  πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Sounds like you’re on your way. Thanks for sharing your journey with us, here.

    • Thank you for reading, Ann. I appreciate your kind words. Peace to you πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

