Posted by: soulshinemoments | January 27, 2014

“There is more to life than simply increasing its speed.” -Ghandi

My hospice internship has been good for me in a lot of intrinsic ways.  Because I have had to confront my own death and dying beliefs and fears through helping others, I have sought my spirituality in much deeper ways than I have in the past.  No better way to celebrate and appreciate life than to be reminded how temporary it is! I also feel and think about God in a much more real way than I have in years.  I feel that He is omnipresent. I feel that life is valuable and meaningful more than my pre-hospice days. 

Another thing I have learned about hospice is the amazingly beautiful mind-body connection which gets easily over-looked in our society.  Many patients actually improve with hospice care because they get that extra attention and TLC and human touch that perhaps their life was lacking.  I believe this attests to the fact that there is something deep within all of us, a human spirit, that must be tended to not only while in hospice, but always and in general.

While the fam was sick this weekend, I decided I was going to take it easy myself, too.  I saw some really good documentaries via Netflix.  One was called: Serving Life. It was about prison inmates who volunteered to service other prison inmates who were in hospice care.  To see the humanity throughout that documentary was incredible.

Another documentary I saw was by National Geographic about stress. Stress is a silent killer.  One way to combat stress is to replace it with compassion.  And, why is our society impressed with stressful lives where people are able to be super multi-taskers and live on pure adrenaline instead of valuing people that are able to take time out for themselves and their self-care and living in peace and harmony with the world?  Why is it ideal to be in such a hurry and try to “accomplish” so much? 

This really struck home with me.  I am intentionally trying to replace stress with compassion in my life. Taking deep breaths–my main goals for the day.  Slowing down and enjoying my food, my tea, my children.  Making time for yoga and books and sunshine and love and humanity.  It is my intention to make space in my life and step away from the maddening crowd–as best as I can while being a grad school student, a lowly social work intern, a mommy to a toddler, and a full-time step-mom to a teenager! I will do this one breath at a time.

Image

Responses

  1. I really enjoyed this entry! Thank you so much for sharing!! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Kmareka.com and commented:
    Interesting take on how hospice can inform a stronger spirituality and dedication to mindful living.

  3. This quote has so much meaning for me. I’ve spent the last 5 years learning how to slow down and change my “story” to a belief that I am okay, just as I am…..I don’t have to prove myself worthy by being faster, better, or having a more full calendar.


Leave a Reply

Categories

