Posted by: soulshinemoments | February 1, 2014

Be So Strong That

Someone posted on our MSW Facebook page that we have 99 days until graduation.  Wow.  Nothing lights the fire under my butt like hearing a number like that.  In a blink, it will all be over, I guess!

This idea along with it being the start of a fresh month, makes me want to not only press on full-throttle but also get a clearer vision of where I want to be come May 13th, 2014.  I have also been inspired by my darling Jack.  He has created his own list of goals and is on the path to living a healthier life-style.  I am really proud of him and want to press on, as well.

Even though I have been feeling under the weather for the past couple of days, I decided to try to pump myself up today and create a list of goals and To-Do’s for myself this month.  It helps me feel hopeful and encouraged about the future.

be-so-strong-that-nothing-can-disturb-your-peace-of-mind-christian-d-larsen

 

I am job seeking pretty seriously these days, as I hope to be in Ohio by June 1st with a job lined up (I’m putting it out there, Universe.  Help me out!). I spoke with the head hauncho at the Cleveland Clinic in the holistic therapy department on Thursday.  He was an incredibly nice man.  He said that before he would consider hiring me, I need to not only have my MSW degree, but also train under him for 2 additional years.  I’m such a believer in holistic therapy that it is almost worth it, but I definitely cannot go another 2 years without a pay-check (not sure if it is paid or not).  Either way, he said he wants to meet me when I move up there.

In the meantime, I’ve got to keep searching for a job.  There is a adolescent/children counseling place that is interested in me, but not until I take the state license test for Ohio. So that is my immediate goal as of now: to take that test. (Why can’t I be done with tests by this point in my life?!)  Actually, my first goal is to do well in my classes and then take that test.

If I really want to do this holistic therapy thing, I need to be as whole as I can be myself.  I have got to walk the talk.  I know continuing to get into a routine practice of mindfulness and meditation is a good foundation.

I had a crazy and realistic dream that I went to my advanced seminar class in my underwear and woke up in a sweat!  I think this symbolizes my dread and fear of failure regarding our Bio-Psycho-Social-Spiritual Assessment that I am supposed to be doing on a patient in order to graduate.  I am trying to embrace this project as best as I can, but I am not allowed much freedom at my internship and fear over-stepping my boundaries.  I know it will work out how it is supposed to, but I am struggling with it at the moment.

Family life has been really good lately, to which I am truly grateful! Ariel’s working on cleaning the kitchen and her bed room right now so she can convince her dad to let her go to a superbowl party at the church tomorrow.  Jackson is stuck to the television right now watching his favorite tv show in the world–Curious George.  Jack is in downtown Atlanta right now blowing glass with some other glassblowers at a studio.  And I am typing away in here, feeling hopeful and grateful about what’s to come. 🙂

 

20140201-151652.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

