Posted by: soulshinemoments | February 2, 2014

Rut vs. Pure Potentiality

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.” -Psalm 40:2

The one thing about keeping relatively regular journals and blogs throughout my life is that I get to see very concretely how my life progresses or digresses or stays the same. As I have been trying to stick to one of my goals of blogging or journaling every day today, I happened to flip back in my old hand-written journal to where I was a year ago this time. Certain things I was worried about have turned out immensely better than I expected. That verse I posted above, Psalm 40:2, came to my mind as I was reading my entry and I felt nothing but gratitude in my heart as I remembered the firm place and rock that I am able to stand on today.

Another funny thing about Psalm 40:2 is that today, our Pastor’s message had to do with the ruts people get stuck in during their lives. He spoke of the movie Ground Hog day with Bill Murray to illustrate his point. He encouraged us to get out of our ruts b relying on the body of Christ. We need each other. I thought it was a really beautiful message and felt empowered after service.

Another coincidence/serendepitous moment/God thing that happened today at church is that while Jack and I were sitting in our seats waiting for the sermon to begin, this lady with dark curly hair turns around to me, smiles, and says: “What’s your name?”

“Olivia.”

“That’s what I thought. I was your nurse while you were pregnant. I remember your face.”

“What? You mean like, two years ago?”

“Yep, at _____ Hospital.”

What are the odds of that?! After service was over, I brought Jackson up to meet her: “This was your nurse while you were in my belly, Jackson.”

I think our family is definitely starting to feel more connected to our church. I appreciate how the church is both relaxed yet challenges us. Jack, Ariel, and I have all grown as people since we’ve been attending for the last few months. I would like to get even more connected.

I’ve been contemplating and working toward the goals I set yesterday today, as well. I walked Jackson outside today in the beautiful 64 degree Sping-like weather. Afterwards, I meditated for 30 minutes, enjoying the beautiful day, on our front porch. As I communed with nature, I thought more about the Law of Pure Potentiality….such a cool concept. I definitely want to be aligned with God’s plan for my life.

Now, though, it is super bowl time. 🙂

20140202-171411.jpg

20140202-171424.jpg

20140202-171441.jpg

20140202-171458.jpg

20140202-171512.jpg

20140202-171526.jpg

Responses

  1. Beautiful message 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

