Posted by: soulshinemoments | February 4, 2014

Vital Healing

I was a couple minutes late to class today. 

As I was quickly rounding the stairs in our parking garage on campus, I heard my name.  I looked behind me and saw J., a girl in my cohort.  J is smart as a whip, soft-spoken, thoughtful, keeps mainly to herself but will throw in a surprisingly insightful comment occasionally. 

I turned around and greeted her and we proceeded to walk to class together.

“I forgot,” she said.  “What is it you want to focus on again with your MSW degree?”

“Well, I am interning at hospice now, but I am discovering that I think my real passion has to do with holistic health and the mind-body connection.”

“Oh, that’s cool.  There seems to be a movement in our culture toward that.  I bet you’ll find something.”

“I really hope so.  I spoke with a man last week at the Cleveland Clinic who runs their holistic psychotherapy department.  Working there would be my dream job.”

“I have heard good things about the Cleveland Clinic.”

“I know.  It is really renown.  I just don’t know if I’m worthy to work at such a place, honestly!”

“You are!” She encouraged me, sweetly.

For some reason, I believed her.

Then, I walked into Dr. K’s crowded classroom.  My dear friend, R., saved me a seat.  I was thankful to have a seat.  She then proceeded to give me a belated birthday present. It was this:

Image

 

Vital Healing. Just after I was telling J. about what I wanted to do professionally.  Yes, Rachel knows that I am into the holistic stuff so it is not that crazy of a coincidence, but it is pretty interesting how I had just been talking to J. about minute beforehand.  I think it’s a sign from the Universe, for sure. 🙂

More than that, though.  I felt so blessed by Rachel’s thoughtfulness.  I can’t wait to read this book!

S. and I ate lunch together after class by Starbucks.  We both have decided to make our lives more complicated by not only trying to find a job after graduation, but also by trying to move to  totally different states across the country. (She wants to move back to California.)  It adds a whole new level of complexity to our situations.  But sometimes the best decision isn’t always the easiest. It is all totally do-able. I have faith it will work out as it is supposed to.

Last night, I meditated for 30 minutes at the end of the night.  This is the best time for me to meditate.  My mornings are too hectic for me to take out 30 minutes.  One day, I will.  But now I am just trying to make meditation once a day a habit.  I felt such a grounding sensation while I was meditating.  The best part is that I slept incredibly and woke up this morning feeling so relaxed.  Not a bad day to start the day and I think meditation is where I can give credit.

I have also been keeping up with my goals that I posted a couple of entries ago.  They are all small things I try to do each day, but they seem to be making a big difference in my mindset.

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories