Posted by: soulshinemoments | February 6, 2014

Every Leaf, A Miracle

image

Today was my first official day of seeing hospice patients by myself.  Even though I have been interning since July, my supervisors were insistent on us doing mostly shadowing until today.  Wow. Such a different and interesting experience it is going at it alone.  I felt like a teenager who finally got her driver’s license and didn’t have to drive with mommy sitting next to her all the time.  Don’t get me wrong, my supervisor was excellent in many ways and I definitely learned through her.  But I was ready to feel competent by myself as I will have my MSW by May 10, 2014. In three months, I will be considered a professional, and I desperately feel I need the experience to back that up!

My first patient I saw today makes this constant moaning sound.  She actually reached for my hand and was much calmer than I had previously seen her.  She is non-verbal aside from the moaning sounds.  As I held her hand, I told her that I would be visiting her regularly and asked her if I could read to her the next time I visited with her.  She looked me in the eye and grabbed my hand, squeezing it intermittently.  I believe she was telling me yes.  Next time I visit her, I definitely want to bring some material to read to her.  I am racking my brain of what that might be.  Anyone have any ideas?

I saw two other patients at another nursing home and had equally meaningful experiences.  One of the patients was verbal and we spent awhile talking.  She said, “You know, I am 72 years old and I just can’t believe how fast time has flown.  I look at my life, and it just amazes me.”

She also said that she lived in Cleveland, Ohio from ages 2-18 and preferred it over Georgia.  I thought that was encouraging to hear considering we may be moving up there.

So, after my time meeting with patients, I had a meeting with a social services worker at the nursing home.  Apparently, the nursing home is looking for someone who could work part-time and have flexible hours.  My supervisor said that my name came to her mind and asked me if I was interested in a part-time job.  Seeing as how we are broke as a joke, I jumped on the opportunity.  So, guess what–I GOT THE JOB!

It is a huge blessing and miracle.  After I had the short interview with her and she told me I had the job, I walked to my car fighting back tears of joy.  I haven’t had work since 2010 because I moved up here and the economy was awful.  Then I became pregnant with Jaxy and things were so crazy.  I have had a couple temporary gigs, but nothing serious.  It is just so amazing that I finally will have work! And I found it without even looking! She said I will start immediately.

So now I am a working graduate student mommy and step-mom.  How hectic and crazy can I make my life?!

Jack and I were looking at my potential schedule when I came home and we came to the conclusion that we’re going to have to acquire full-time daycare for Jaxy.  Jack has two shows he’s trying to have glass made for.  We found a place nearby and are meeting with them tomorrow.  But, essentially, half the paycheck I will be getting will be going to daycare!  Goodness.  Such is the hamster wheel of my life.

In other exciting news, Jack and I are talking about Jackson and I going with him to Austin, Tx in May for a trade show. The show is the same time as my graduation ceremony and Jack was not wanting to miss it.  I told him I would rather skip my ceremony and go to Austin.  I mean, seriously.  I am 30 years old.  I don’t need to be centerstage so I can get a piece of paper.  I’d rather use the money and go do something FUN!   

Lots of exciting things coming up! Woo Hoo.

Leave a Reply

Categories

