Posted by: soulshinemoments | February 17, 2014

Thankful for Everything I do Have

I start my new job tomorrow at the nursing home at 8:30 in the morning.  I hate the anxiety that comes with starting a new job, but I know that this is where I am supposed to be.  The extra experience I will be getting along with the paycheck will be a definite blessing for me and my family.  I am really grateful for this opportunity.

I came to campus a few hours early today.  I spent time in our campus cafeteria and did non-school related stuff.  One of the things I am trying to intentionally do this month is keep a gratitude journal.  I used to think keeping one of these was so cheesy.  I remember I took a positive psychology class during undergrad and our professor spoke of the positive benefits of writing down just three things you are grateful for everyday.  Finally, years later, I have decided to start doing just that.  I was keeping up pretty well with this discipline until last week when we got snowed in (again).  All of my rituals and good habit building pretty much went temporarily out of the window so I could chase my toddler around and clean the house and binge watch Netflix.  Consequently, today I had six days of missed gratitude blessings to account for, so I decided to make it a little more creative in my journal.  Here is my doodle:

20140217-121029.jpg05d86a710e408707bd03696d3fbecc38

It truly is an amazing mood booster.  I am a believer now. 🙂

My interest in healthier living is growing more and more each day, too.  I think my influence may be rubbing off on Jack as well.  It has been our nightly ritual for the past 4 weeks to drink tea.  He even skipped his coffee yesterday and had a morning chai tea instead, but later decided he still needs his coffee and is not up to giving that up.  I can’t say I blame him. 😉

Here’s a picture I took last night of our preparing our nightly yogi tea. Yum! We have also been Netflix binging on “Orange is the New Black”.  Such an amazing simple pleasure!

“Love what is ahead by loving what has come before.”

20140217-123513.jpg“Travel light, spread the light, be the light.”

Our family went to church yesterday.  The pastor spoke about “Inconvenient Love”.  He first related to the way parents feel with their children.  Cleaning up after them when they are sick, dropping your plans to satisfy their needs, and all the many other millions of things that go along with being a good parent–they are totally and completely inconvenient.  But we still do them for our children because we have so much love for them that that trumps anything else. (This especially touched me because I have kids.)  He went on to say how showing God’s love may be inconvenient. Being kind to our enemies is inconvenient. But it is still necessary and worth it.

I am not writing it as well as he articulated it, but the message definitely touched me.  I guess because I relate to all the inconvenience having children and and family sometimes cause me. But it is worth it.  It is what makes life rich.  Also, if I expect life and people I love to be inconvenient and that is just a part of life, that it starts not to feel so inconvenient after all.

Responses

  1. Hi love. Stopping by to say hello and hope all is well. I haven’t had too much time lately to blog. Congratulations on your job, I hope you enjoy it! =) I talk a lot about gratitude in my blog, I guess you can call me a gratitude advocate. Everyday on social media my friend who is a Medical Intuitive Healer hold gratitude parties where people all over the world share their gratitude. I also hold gratitude group texts twice a day with 5 things in the morning and at night. My entire day consists of gratitude, it’s truly a blessing. Enjoy your journal! Good luck with everything! xoxo

    • Fancy, Girl! I love it when you comment on my blog. You are always so positive and wise. Thank you always for your sweet words. I really like the idea about having group gratitude group texts. Are you doing that just with your close friends or with random people? Gratitude really is a life-changer–who knew! 😉 I haven’t had much time to read or write in here, but I try to squeeze in a snippet when I can. I have missed out on your blog lately. I hope you’re doing wonderfully and I look forward to catching up! Take care and many blessings to you! xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

