Posted by: soulshinemoments | March 26, 2014

Extracting Happiness from Common Things

Image

When I first started graduate school, Jack and I would spend late night hours by his truck discussing our plans after graduate school.  We had fun brainstorming all of the possibilities.  Maybe we could move to Asheville, North Carolina and live among the little artsy hippie people while Jack joined their extensive glass community?  Maybe we would move back to Jack’s roots in Ohio so the kids could be around their grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins? Maybe we would be even more ambitious and move to some place beautiful and exotic like Hawaii and go from there.

But, now, here it as six weeks from graduation and are plans seem to be changing.  We are re-examining and thinking about actually just simply staying put.  Not in the same house (’cause the house needs some serious help), but in the same state and near the same town.  I have so many connections now that graduate school is almost completed.  Jack has transformed his studio into a 3-person studio and found rather talented glassblowers to work with.  Ariel is in love with her friends and school here.  I even have a yoga studio I love and would like to continue to be a part of.  Finally, we have a family church that we have been attending every Sunday that seems to offer just the spiritual food we need each week. Basically, we are just thinking about blooming where we are planted.  And I am ok with that.

But, I do want Jack and I to have our own house together and a fresh start.

And I do still want to travel to exotic places if at all possible. 🙂

I took a personal day today because my back was hurting this morning and I had a really stressful, busy week last week.  I figured the day off would work wonders for my mood and body.  I am so glad I did. Sometimes I just need time and space to breathe and it is difficult for me to find that.  But today, I made some space.

I feel happy and lucky.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

