Posted by: soulshinemoments | October 26, 2015

Your life is right now….

“YOUR LIFE IS right now! It’s not later! It’s not in that time of retirement.  It’s not when the lover gets here.  It’s not when you’ve moved into the new house.  It’s not when you get the better job.  Your life is right now.  It will always be right now.  You might as well decide to start enjoying your life right now, because it’s not ever going to get better than right now–until it gets better right now!” -Abraham-Hicks

We are going room by room, trying to update our house.  Jack has owned this house for almost 11 years now. Until this past year, he/we haven’t had the time nor resources to update its 1983 self at all.  Finally, we have a little more time and a little more money, so we are going room by room–slowly but surely.  I want us to get it fixed up so we can sell it and move.  I want something that is officially ours since Jack moved in here first, without me.  He says that with all the blood, sweat, and tears we  have invested in the house together now, that it should feel like mine.  I’m not miserable here, but I still like to daydream a little bit. He’s also really getting into construction (actually doing it for a living right now) and is even talking about maybe getting into house flipping…which sounds pretty cool to me as long as I don’t have to do any heavy lifting. Hehe.

I honestly can’t even decide where I want to “settle down”. Staying where we are right now while Ariel finishes high school is okay for now.  I have a great job and the kids are happy. I still fantasize about traveling the world, too, though…

Which I guess brings me back to that quote I just came across…Your life is right now….So I am trying to be happy right now. And, mostly, I am happy right now!  Fantasizing about our elopement in February also helps cure my wanderlust feelings…But, yes….Your life is right now.

I drove a great deal in the rain today–my first patient being an hour away.  She was at an Assisted Living Facility and does not speak except for perserverating the word, “Daddy, daddy, daddy”.  She has alzheimers disease and is difficult to engage with, but today she at least flashed me a small smile. I just sat with her, rubbing her arm. She seemed comfortable, so there was not much else I could really do. I saw two other patients, and then went to a CEU class about Resources for Veterans.  I was hoping it would be more educational, but it was honestly stuff I could probably google.  But, we were served dinner and I won the drawing at the end of the night which included lotion and shower gel.  Not bad for a free CEU, I suppose.  My friends from graduate school, Liz and Hillary, were also there so that made it even better.

Leave a Reply

Categories

