Posted by: soulshinemoments | January 5, 2016

“Love the Life You have while Creating the Life of Your Dreams.” -Elrod (Miracle Morning Progress)

I have now completed thirty-five day of Hal Elrod’s “Miracle Morning” philosophy.  Granted, I started November 16th and it is now January 5th–so I have not been religiously devout (hey, man, holidays are chaotic!), but I have continuously jumped back into the game over and over again, and will continue to do so!

As a reminder, the Miracle Morning is based off of the book by Hal Elrod.  It’s basically based on the philosophy that you need to wake up a couple hours earlier than you “have” to, do NOT hit the snooze button when your alarm goes off, and focus spending time alone, with God (or your “source”), and focus on personal development.  Hal suggests to use the acronym SAVERS and spend 10+ minutes in each category.

Silence
Affirmation
Visualization
Exercise
Reading
Scribing (aka Journaling)

Along with this routine comes goal setting and creating the life you want and believing you can accomplish it.

It’s funny how I came upon this book and philosophy, actually.  I started a bullet journal in August (www.bulletjournal.com) to organize myself a little better.  As I was on pinterest looking up creative bullet journal ideas, I found this blog, bohoberry.com where the blogger is a big advocate for MM.  It looked interesting to me and I am always open to new ideas, so I downloaded Hal Elrod’s ebook and here I am, 35 days later! (I also joined the miracle morning Facebook community where there are all kinds of inspiring thoughts and people completing the miracle morning.) It’s such a simple concept, but it clicks with me for some reason.

I look forward to waking up early–to the silence of the mornings, the peace.  I start my day on the right foot and have hope for the day ahead and for my life and I feel empowered!

“Love the life you have while creating the life of your dreams.” -Hal Elrod

My mornings usually look like this–

Jack has started a job working for a construction company and is up between 4am and 5am during the week. This happens to work out excellent for me (thank you, Universe) because we both get up at the same time and it is easier to wake up when we both have to wake up. As soon as I wake up, I come downstairs and turn on the hot water to make some lemon water (drinking warm lemon water has amazing health benefits, fyi.) I pull out my 10 year old yoga mat I once bought from target with faded pink flowers. I pull out my meditation lotus cushion that Ariel’s mom mailed me. I pull out candles, incense, my incense holder that our neighbor personally made me. And I pull out my gemstones my friend, Rachel, gave me for my birthday. Creating a sacred space is very important for me. I also pull out my vision board that I created (see previous entries).

Silence– I sit for 5-10 minutes on my meditation pillow and try my best to silence my mind, focus on my breath, practice pranayama breathing, let the feeling of gratitude feel my heart, and just smile! (it sounds cheesy, but it sets my day and morning up right.)

Affirmations–I kind of cheated with this one and looked on pinterest for positive affirmations and made screenshots of the ones that resonate with me.

“I release all things from the past year that has caused any negative attachment. I prepare and welcome new changes, new lessons, and new adventures. I welcome new opportunities to grow emotionally, mentally, and spiritually.”

I literally read everyone I collect, outloud, until the timer on my phone tells me times up! Yes, I feel a little like Guy Smally (“I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!”), but whatever!

Visualization– Honestly, I am still trying to perfect this skill. I stare at the vision board I made and imagine myself actively engaged with the pictures I cut out. I want to get deeper and clearer with my visualization eventually. I’m working on it everyday.

Exercise–I spend 10-20 minutes doing yoga poses. I am trying to work on my home practice and really engage and learn the flow of the yoga moves. I used to only want to do yoga in studios, so the fact that I am more comfortable having a home practice is great improvement. I saw this book at the book store last week, 2,100 Asanas, The Complete Yoga Poses by Daniel Lacerda, and it is on my list of books I want to own! I think I might make it a reward for once I reach 100 days of doing the Miracle Morning! I also go to the gym in the afternoon 4-5 days a week.

Reading–10-15 minutes of reading. Currently I am reading Inspiration by Wayne Dyer and The School of Greatness by Lewis Howes. I have a huge list of books to read, so I should be busy….until death!

Scribing–I have kept a paper journal since I was 10, so journaling comes easy to me. I am actually thinking of turning my journaling into blogging time so I can write in here regularly again.

Other benefits of completing the Miracle Morning–catching the beautiful sunrises that I typically sleep through! 

 

“You need to be content with small steps. That’s all life is. Small steps that you take everyday so when you look back don the road it all adds up and you know you have covered some distance…you need to have patience.”

Responses

  1. Great post πŸ™‚ love the intent way you are living your life.


Leave a Reply

Categories

